I realised today that I’m training in colder conditions (Canberra) than the actual Gold Coast Peaks Challenge event (Gold Coast) as the Bureau of Meteorology data below confirms:

Gold Coast May Jun Jul Aug
Mean maximum temperature (°C) 23.4 21.3 21.1 21.9
Mean minimum temperature (°C) 15.3 13.1 12 12.5
Canberra May Jun Jul Aug
Mean maximum temperature (°C) 15.8 12.3 11.5 13.5
Mean minimum temperature (°C) 4.2 1.4 0 1.3

In warmer temperatures:

  • I can wear less layers. Instead of jersey + arm warmers + gilet, I can probably get away with just a jersey for most of the ride. However, I still need to carry the warmer layers in case the weather gets colder and also to abide by the GCP rules (all riders must carry wind or rain jacket, gloves, etc).
  • I’ll need more disciplined hydration. I’m doing two long training riding rides this weekend and I’m going to try drinking one bidon every hour.

15-05-22

Food

  • Breakfast: oats, chia seeds, frozen blueberries, protein powder (Rich Roll), cinnamon, soy milk, milled linseed, grapes.
  • Lunch: sandwiches (4 slices of bread) with tomato, lettuce, chickpea, corn kernels, mustard, pumpkin, sweet potato, curry powder.
  • Dinner: mixed rice (white rice, brown rice, black rice, dried jujube, peanut), seaweed flakes, chilli oil, Chinese cabbage, tofu, steamed vegetable buns
  • Other: one apple, two mandarins, two coffees (ALDI pods), two B12 tablets

Exercise

  • One hour – 10 minutes warm-up and the remainder at tempo / PRE6 and sometimes PRE7. Strava data here.
