Today’s run workout was a decently paced 6.0km at 4.51min/km.

My pacing was all over the place, as is evident from the speed graph.

Instead of a smooth V shape, where the beginning and end of the run is faster than the middle, my pace today was inconsistent.

If the second half of a run is slower than the first half, then according to generally agreed principles of run pacing, I’ve gone out too quickly.

For example “Interestingly, every world record from the 1500 meters to the marathon has been set running negative splits – running the first half of the race slightly slower than the second half. This means that if you want to ensure that you run the fastest time possible, you don’t want to run the 800 [of a 1500m race] … too fast.

I can run a much better time if I pace myself properly.

run

Eventually I want to get to around 4 min/km over 5-6km.

I’ll keep my training consistent and see how much improvement I can make this year.


16-01-21

Food:

  • Breakfast: watermelon
  • Lunch: lychees; coconut soup mixture (coconut milk, rockmelon, mango, spinach, cucumber, yellow capsicum, peanut butter, tomato, tofu, onion, spring onion, mushroom, potato)
  • Dinner: beans (beans, tomato paste, cumin, coriander, sriracha sauce, soy sauce); raw crunchy salad with coconut soup mixture  (coconut milk, rockmelon, mango, spinach, cucumber, yellow capsicum, peanut butter, tomato, tofu, onion, spring onion, mushroom, potato)
  • Other: noodles with tofu, mushroom, cabbage

Workout

