Over the past ~2 years I’ve been experimenting with eating a primarily plant-based diet, meaning 90-100% of the time, I’ll eat whole-food, plant-based foods.

This means a diet high in fruits, vegetables, grains, starches and legumes, and as least processed as possible. Potatoes, rice, corn, legumes, all fruit and vegetables are in; meat, seafood, dairy and all processed foods are minimised or completely excluded.

I haven’t stuck to this way of eating the whole time. I’ve wavered often – I don’t think I’ve gone longer than two weeks this year eating solely this way. Some times I’ll be eating pretty ‘plant-strong’ meals during the weekdays, and then eat whatever on weekends.

One of the challenges I’ve had in maintaining this way of eating is learning how to cook appropriately whole-food plant-based dishes. It’s almost like a new cuisine, and there are a number of contraints (which also breeds a lot of creativity). Firstly, low to minimal oil. Secondly, the products I used to eat a lot of (animal products) must not feature. Thirdly, must be tasty enough that I’d gladly eat again and again.

Here’s the current list of whole-food plant-based dishes I can cook. All are completely vegan / no oil / low salt / whole-food plant-based.

They all taste super good and I’ll gladly make these meals for anybody, whether they eat ‘whole-food plant-based’ or not:

  • Black rice mango salad – black rice, coriander, mango, red grape, green onion, yellow capsicum, grape tomato, balsamic vinegar
  • Raw broccoli / cauliflower salad – broccoli, cauliflower, raisin, sesame seed, parsley
  • ‘Mushroom pate’ – porcini mushroom, portobello mushroom, pecan, nutritional yeast, onion powder, garlic powder, sun-dried tomatoes, lemon juice, rosemary, miso paste
  • Coconut orange banana treat – shaved coconut, orange, banana, slivered almonds, maple syrup (optional)
  • Eight treasures congee – red bean, glutinous rice, rock sugar, lotus seed, peanut, wolfberry (also known as goji berry)

I think there are more but right now I can’t think of what they are. The following are on my list of ‘close to awesome but still experimenting:

  • almond herb pate
  • black bean soup
  • chickpea curry
  • onion, tomato, olive with…. [insert here]
  • blackened bok choy with… [insert ingredient]
  • fruit salad combination
  • basmati rice with raisin, turmeric, bay leaf, etc

I’ll monitor and add to this list as I learn more and more about this healthful, tasty way of eating.


16-04-17 Food:

  • Breakfast: banana
  • Lunch: tomato, onion, Chinese celery leaves, bbq chicken, soba noodles
  • Dinner: onion, noodles, miso paste, tomato sauce, two fried eggs
  • Other: some mixed nuts; apple pie (McDonalds), ice cream (Cafe Grande, Connosieur brand), soy crisps (plane food)

Workout:

  • Around 1.5 hours walking
