Five weeks remain til I attempt to run a sub-74 minute City 2 Surf. I’ll be consistent and focussed on achieving this goal through the following types of workouts:

  • Mondays – easy or rest
  • Tuesday – hard – short intervals
  • Wednesday – easy
  • Thursday – hard – longer intervals (500 metre to 1 kilometre)
  • Friday – easy or rest
  • Saturday – 10km with a few efforts
  • Sunday – 14km easy

I’ll also do some gym workouts – shoulder, back, tricep/bicep, chest, legs

And I’ll stick as much as possible to a whole-food plant-based diet.

I’m around 80kg now and by City2Surf (14 August), I hope to be around 77-78kg.


Fasulya (turkish bean stew)

IMG_6101.JPG


Food:

  • Breakfast: oats, pepitas, nuts, banana, inca berries
  • Lunch: noodles with dumplings and seaweed
  • Dinner: fasulya, some rice and vegetables, turkish bread
  • Other: wasabi peanuts

Workout:

  • 17km run at easy pace, 5.58min/km
  • Average run cadence: 166 steps per minute
  • Average stride length: 1.01m
  • Elevation gain, loss: 310m, 324m
  • Easy talking pace. Should have brought a gel with me – twelve hours later and my legs are a bit sore.
