I enjoyed these snippets of an interview with Jeremy Lin, the Taiwanese American NBA basketballer perhaps best known for sparking ‘Linsanity’ during his earlier successes with the New York Knicks in 2012:

  • “I remember how fleeting that moment of success was. I was happy but then two or three weeks later, all I’m thinking about is the next game, because if I don’t play well then there’s a backlash, and if I play well there’s the next game.”
  • “After the season is the next season. That’s when I had an epiphany moment where, if being on top of the world isn’t good enough, then what is? That’s where I started to take another step spiritually.”
  • “If you ask me, ‘why is my high school coach such a great coach? It’s because he never thought he knew it all.”
  • “Humility is a strength because, if you look at this past year, why did we as the Hornets, why did we exceed expectations? We were expected to finish thirteenth in the Eastern Conference. We finished sixth and we’re half a game out from finishing third. It’s because we had humility on that team.
  • “We’re willing to sacrifice, we’re willing to play for each other. I think if you look at teams that overachieve, a big part is they are very humble … I think there’s a big difference between being humble and being stepped on.”

Foggy morning and a cyclist in suburbia (upper North Shore, New South Wales Australia)

IMG_6104.JPG


Food:

  • Breakfast: oats with blueberries
  • Lunch: vege vermicelli noodles
  • Dinner: rice, vegetables, pork ball
  • Other: coffee, mung bean soup, weet-bix with almond milk

Workout:

  • Gym – stationary bike, shoulder workouts – shoulder press, lateral and front raise, bent over lateral raise
  • Stationary bike 31 minutes – easy with a few out of saddle efforts
