A colleague asked me about my fruit eating habits today.

I said that I was experimenting with a ‘plant-based’ diet, and that through eating this way for the past two or so years, I felt pretty good and wanted to continue.

I mentioned the Blue Zones research and its finding that the world’s longest-lived populations eat a 90-100% plant-based diet. (And beans-all types, from fava, black, garbanzo, lentils-form a part of all their diets.)

Finally, I said that I did not apply a strict ‘plant-based’ approach to eating and that from time to time, I would eat non-plant-based foods.

My colleague seemed satisfied with that answer but had a follow-up question – all that fruit, isn’t that too much sugar?

My short answer was ‘no, fruit doesn’t have too much sugar when eaten whole because it is accompanied by the pulp of the fruit (a lot of fibre) and a lot of water content (making the sugar more dilute than, say, straight sugar). But eat too much food and you’ll gain weight, because calorie in > calorie out equals weight gain.’

Despite not being able to give my colleague a comprehensive, well-educated answer, I enjoyed the discussion, because it made me question the knowledge I have on this topic, and once again reaffirmed my interest in learning more about nutrition, something that affects every person everywhere in the world.


Half a red pomelo (like a big grapefruit)

IMG_6694.JPG


Food:

  • Breakfast: mung bean soup, brown rice, tofu
  • Lunch: brown rice, olive, seaweed flakes, tofu
  • Dinner: noodles with pork ball, bento box (sashimi, teriyaki salmon, tempura, salad)
  • Other: red wine, four oranges, one coffee
    • Overall, more calories in than out!

Workout:

  • None – resting before a hard run tomorrow or Sunday, depending on weather.

 

