Steptember – a charity event organised by the Cerebral Palsy Alliance – challenges participants to take 10,000 steps a day for 28 days straight in the month of September.

A few of my colleagues are participating and out of curiosity I searched what it would take to reach 10,000 steps in a day.

  • Slow (3km/h): 67 steps per minute
  • Medium (5.5km/h): 115 steps per minute
  • Fast (6.4km/h): 152 steps per minute

So a fast walker would need about one hour of walking to reach 10,000 steps and a slow walker about two and a quarter hours.

I’ve been tracking my steps per day using the iPhone health app and today, after running 10km and various shopping and activities at home, I apparently clocked up ~18,000 steps.


Don’t see this often – a shop asking requesting customer feedback on what items to stock

image.jpeg

