I am yet to find canned black beans in Canberra (have looked in Coles, Woolworths, Indian grocer). Is it that rare? I wonder what is the demand for canned black beans. Hmm.

Anyway, continuing my journey of finding the most delicious ways to eat beans, I came across this black bean recipe but as I couldn’t source any black beans, I substituted Coles four bean mix for black beans instead.

Ingredients: four bean mix, coconut oil, cumin powder, garlic, black pepper, salt, fresh coriander.

Here’s what it looks like:

beansTastes good to me. You have to enjoy cumin to enjoy this dish. The cumin flavour is very strong. Cumin works well with garlic. The lemon juice and fresh coriander lightens up the whole dish.

Summary – tastes alright. I would gladly repeat this dish, but next time, I’ll be trying another recipe. I’ll also try the same flavours (cumin, garlic, oil, lemon, coriander) with black beans that I soak and cook myself.

Bean dishes so far: generic bean recipe; Costco chickpea and spinach curry.


15-07-16

Food:

  • Breakfast: oats, chia seeds, pepitas, green grapes, cinnamon powder, almond milk.
  • Lunch: rice (white rice, black rice), capsicum (red capsicum, yellow capsicum, maple syrup, lemon juice, cumin powder, black pepper, coconut oil), pepitas, seaweed, rice, nutritional yeast.
  • Dinner: rice (black rice, white rice); beans (four bean mix, coconut oil, lemon, coriander, cumin powder, garlic); tofu (with chilli oil, seaweed flakes); one head of cauliflower (blanched and added fresh chopped coriander).
  • Other: two apples, ~500g grapes, B12 (Rich Roll).

Exercise

  • Nothing. Felt pretty sore after yesterday’s Sufferfest.
  • I’ve dropped the ball this week – I’m not going to ride tomorrow as I had planned. Instead of commuting and doing five laps of the Arboretum, I’ll do 1-2 hours on an indoor bike.